Hepatology

From U of M Internal Medicine Wiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
Section
Section Head - Hepatology Dr. Eberhard Renner
Postgraduate Program Director - Hepatology Dr. David Peretz
Program Secretary - Hepatology Roberta Vizniak, Colleen McRae, Adrienne Simpson, Annette Nanowski
Program Administrator - Hepatology Marie Field
Physician Services Manager Kim Armitt

The Section of Hepatology runs the Hepatology Subspecialty Education Program. The section has 5 GFT and 4 non-GFT physicians and 1 PhD researchers.

The Section of Hepatology at the University of Manitoba was the first Hepatology section independent from Gastroenterology in Canada. The section’s faculty consists currently of hepatologists and a PhD researcher. Two Clinical Assistants and post-doctoral fellows complement the team. Several sections members are actively involved in clinical research that is conducted through our clinical trial unit with several research nurses. One clinical research focus is liver disease, in particular non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, in Canadian First Nations population for which two section members attracted CIHR funding. One of our faculty is a CIHR funded clinician-scientist with an active lab-based research program on role of cancer stem cells in the pathogenesis of hepatocellular and cholangio-carcinoma. The section offers a RCPSC AFC program in adult Hepatology and, apart from hepatology fellows, trains rotating fellows and residents from General Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology. In addition all faculty members are involved in UGME training. The section provides clinical services for outpatients and a consult service for inpatients covering all aspects of hepatology including pre and post-transplantation care, and serves as the tertiary hepatology referral center for the Manitoba, Nunavut and NW Ontario.

Mailing list

Mailing list staff and Physicians

show list

Adrienne.Simpson@umanitoba.ca
Annette.Nanowski@umanitoba.ca
Cmcrae2@exchange.hsc.mb.ca
carla.osiowy@canada.ca
dperetz@manitoba-physicians.ca
erenner2@manitoba-physicians.ca
gminuk@manitoba-physicians.ca
julia.uhanova@umanitoba.ca
kkaita@manitoba-physicians.ca
nfaisal@manitoba-physicians.ca
swong@manitoba-physicians.ca
scuvelier@manitoba-physicians.ca
yuewen.gong@umanitoba.ca
karmitt@wrha.mb.ca
mfield@hsc.mb.ca
roberta.vizniak@umanitoba.ca
wcirillo@hsc.mb.ca

Section Members

 Last NameAcademic rankAppointment TypeHas SecretaryIs Secretary toReports to
Adrienne SimpsonSimpsonDr. David Peretz
Dr. Susan Cuvelier
Kim Armitt
Annette NanowskiNanowskiDr. Kelly Kaita
Dr. Nabiha Faisal
Kim Armitt
Colleen McRaeMcRaeN/ADr. Pamela Katz
Dr. Isanne Schacter
Dr. Stephen Wong
Kim Armitt
Dr. Carla OsiowyOsiowyProfessional AffiliateNIL
Dr. David PeretzPeretzAssistant ProfessorClinical Contract & NILAdrienne SimpsonDr. Eberhard Renner
Dr. Eberhard RennerRennerProfessorGFTRoberta VizniakN/A
Dr. Gerald Y. MinukMinukProfessorGFTRoberta VizniakDr. Eberhard Renner
Dr. Julia UhanovaUhanovaAssociate ProfessorUMFADr. Eberhard Renner
Dr. Kelly KaitaKaitaAssistant ProfessorGFTAnnette NanowskiDr. Eberhard Renner
Dr. Nabiha FaisalFaisalAssistant ProfessorGFTAnnette NanowskiDr. Eberhard Renner
Dr. Stephen WongWongAssociate ProfessorGFTColleen McRaeDr. Eberhard Renner
Dr. Susan CuvelierCuvelierAssistant ProfessorClinical Contract & NILAdrienne SimpsonDr. Eberhard Renner
Dr. Yuewen GongGongProfessorNILDr. Eberhard Renner
Kim ArmittArmittDale Gustafson
Marie FieldFieldSuzanne Doyle
Roberta VizniakVizniakDr. Gerald Y. Minuk
Dr. Eberhard Renner
Kim Armitt
Wendy CirilloCirilloN/A

Related articles

Related articles: